Home > Uncategorized > Gmail’s status: POP is enabled for all mail that has arrived since 8/26/06

Gmail’s status: POP is enabled for all mail that has arrived since 8/26/06

This is pretty funny. I don’t know how it happened nor why this can solve it. All I know is this will work out somehow.

Brief descriptions: POP did not download e-mails from Gmail account before a specific date.

Symptoms: I set up POP in Thunderbird and download e-mails from Gmail account. All went well except that e-mails arrived before  8/26/06 were not downloaded to my computer. No matter what I did the emails wouldn’t get downloaded. So I revisited the setting in the Gmail account >mail setting>Forwarding and POP/IMAP>POP Download and I found that it showed “POP is enabled for all mail that has arrived since 8/26/06” which corresponding exactly with the not-downloaded emails in the gmail account. However, I don’t know how to change the date. I ticked at “Enable POP for all mail (even mail that’s already been downloaded)” and saved the changes, but that did not help.

Here is the trickery…I don’t know how or why though. I ticked on “Enable POP for mail that arrives from now on” then save the changes. After that I ticked “Enable POP for all mail (even mail that’s already been downloaded)” then save the changes. Now it works!

Here they discussed the same problems too

http://www.google.com/support/forum/p/gmail/thread?tid=279f64a3240921b4&hl=en

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: , , ,
  1. mike
    April 28, 2011 at 1:18 am

    Gmail is great but my main issue (unrelated to the problem you fixed) with it is the handling of sent mails and specifically, deleting them in sent mail box will delete the entire conversation it is tagged under. This is due to Gmail’s automatic grouping of emails into conversations without providing any flexibility to change this setting. It appears Google is trying to obtain as much information as possible. I don’t like to retain the majority of my sent mails so the only workaround is to click on each conversation that has a sent mail to delete, manually delete out each sent mail for that group, and then it will appear in trash for permanent removal.

    It would be nice if google could simply let you delete out only the sent mails you select for deletion in the sent mail box as opposed to the whole conversation. Anyone encounter a fix?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

