Home > Research > Image Segmentation using Gaussian Mixture Models

Image Segmentation using Gaussian Mixture Models

Today I wanted to compare my image segmentation results against some traditional method, and of course, Gaussian Mixture Model (GMM) is my victim. I really hoped that GMM will be beaten badly and my algorithm would look super smart against GMM. However, the result from GMM is really good–much better than what I originally expected! The features are L*a*b pixel values and x-y pixel locations (all features are standardized). I tested my GMM segmentation code on some images, the results are pretty good relative to its short runtime. I can’t wait to share my MATLAB code and some results are shown below:

41004

Original image

Segmentation result using GMM with 3 components

Segmentation result using GMM with 3 components

Each color represents a class. The brightness represents the posterior probability--the dark pixels represent high uncertainty of the posterior distribution.

Each color represents a class. The brightness represents the posterior probability--the dark pixels represent high uncertainty of the posterior distribution.

108073108073_overlay_segm_gmm_class4_lab_xy_normalized_weighted108073_segm_gmm_class4_lab_xy_normalized_weighted

  1. stryker
    February 22, 2011 at 11:23 pm

    Bot,

    I’m just curious how you standardized your features? did you linearly scale them between 0-255, 0-1, or something else; or did you normalize by mean centering and divide by standard deviation; or did you standardized them using another approach altogether. Interestingly, linear scaling worked much better for a contextual classifier than did normalization on a landslide segmentation problem that we were working on using lidar-derived DEM features.

    • admin
      February 23, 2011 at 6:40 am

      Mike, I just simply standardize by mean centering and dividing by standard deviation.

  2. hex
    February 27, 2011 at 7:55 am

    I have tried to download the matlab code. But the website didn’t open. Would you mind to send your code to me?

  3. admin
    February 27, 2011 at 5:02 pm
  4. kiri
    April 2, 2011 at 7:21 am

    can any one help me regarding segmentation of DEM data in Matlab

  1. February 27, 2011 at 8:48 pm

Leave a Reply

